A Night in Aalo

Travel Shots by Ritu
2 min readJul 12, 2022

Arunachal Pradesh’s hidden gem uncovered

On my last trip to Arunachal Pradesh, this was my first night halt.

Temge Ete lives in a place called Aalo and he belongs to the Walo tribe.

He was very hospitable and so was his wife. They offered me rice husk brew; it tasted like a heady, sweet wine but was black in colour!

His wife gave me “touchings” (snacks) with the wine — roasted tapioca and a spicy chutney made of just chillies, garlic and ginger.

Roasted tapioca and the wine

My guide who was accompanying me, had decided not to reveal that I was on a recconnaisance trip so the owners of the homestays I stayed in, wouldn’t go all out to treat me well. It was essential for me to understand what their “regular” hospitality would look like.

After a few refills of the brew, Temge was very concerned about me. He couldn’t, for the life of him, fathom why I was travelling alone in these parts, where tourists don’t come!

I told him that I wanted to explore Arunachal Pradesh, but he wasn’t convinced.

When I got up to go for a loo break, he apparently told the guide (who shared this with me the next day) that he suspected I was a government spy who’d come to check if all government policies were being implemented :)

My host

After a comfortable night in his daughter’s room, we had breakfast of maggi noodles and black tea and bid them goodbye.

As I sat in the car to explore another part of this gorgeous State, I kept thinking, “This IS India. This is MY India!”

A typical village home in Aalo

Interesting trivia: All Temge’s children’s names begin with “Ge”, the last two letters of his name. That’s the culture in his tribe.

--

--

Travel Shots by Ritu

A Photologue of Offbeat Travel Experiences and Local Stories from India and Bhutan